With gay marriage set to begin in California on Monday, The Times is answering readers' questions on the subject. You can submit questions at firstname.lastname@example.org. Check out full coverage of the debate about the gay marriage issue at latimes.com/gaymarriage.
Also available: The Times' gay marriage page on Facebook.
Here is a sampling of questions:
What will civil marriage commissioners say when giving the wedding vows? Here's the wording recommendation from the County Clerks Assn. of California: "By virtue of the authority vested in me, as a Deputy Commissioner of Marriages for the County of XXX, I now pronounce this couple united in marriage under the laws of the state of California.
"My partner and I had a civil union in Vermont. Can we get married in California now?Yes. If you are unmarried, you may get married in California.
Where can I apply for a marriage license?Both would-be spouses must appear in person at a county clerk's office with photo identification and cash, check, or money order to pay for the license fees and, if desired, a ceremony.
Here's the process for counties in Southern California:
Orange County: Appointments are accepted but not required. The license costs $61.50, and the ceremony $28; debit cards are also accepted. Those who start their application online before arriving at the clerk's office are given priority.
Ventura County: Appointments recommended but walk-ins are allowed. The license costs $97, the ceremony $45, and the certificate, once the wedding is completed, is $13. You may start the marriage application here and go to the right-hand corner, and click on the "marriage application" tab.
(Continue for other counties)